Jump to content


From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Committed identity: 3a2c285b1a47cadcecbb9475d32ab9b5e9e12fde is a SHA-1 commitment to this user's real-life identity.
9,000+This user has made more than 9,000 contributions to Wikipedia.
en-ca-NThis user is a native speaker of Canadian English.
This user prefers the metric system.
This editor is a WikiGnome.
This user is a member of the
Counter-Vandalism Unit.
This user has a page on Wikinews.
Dr PThis user drinks Dr Pepper. Wouldn't you like to be a pepper too?

Hey, you've found my space. I like to write about places and things in southern Ontario. I also usually have a good eye for spelling and typos, and I like to correct them wherever I find them.


After much consideration, I have decided to multi-license all my contributions, with the exception of my user pages and any images uploaded, as described below:

Dual licensed with the Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike License version 2.0
I agree to dual-license my text contributions, unless otherwise stated, under Wikipedia's copyright terms and the Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike license version 2.0. Please be aware that other contributors might not do the same, so if you want to use my contributions under the Creative Commons terms, please check the CC dual-license and Multi-licensing guides.


There aren't really a lot of interesting things to know about me; I consider myself pretty ordinary as far as people go. I've even been called normal on more than one occasion. I was born on Halloween which seems to amuse a lot of people. Not only was I born on Halloween, but I was born on the evening that Daylight Savings Time ended in 1976, at 0200, which became 0100 and so my mother worked an extra hour for naught.

I have one brother, Eric, who lives in Toronto. He is a talented comic book artist.

I am currently employed as a software developer and technical consultant for Waterloo-based Open Text Corporation, a manufacturer of enterprise content management software. My initial experience with Open Text was in network operations where I served four months as a co-op student from January to April 2000. In August 2000, I returned as a co-op developer with b2bScene, a division of Open Text dedicated to developing business-to-business software. Finally, in April 2001, I became a permanent full-time employee. b2bScene no longer exists, and has been known as Hosted and Managed Solutions, the Global Delivery Centre, and now Global Services Development, a part of the larger Global Services organization at Open Text. My job is basically customizing our principal product, Livelink, to suit the needs of customers. It involves some technical skills, business knowledge, and tact. I like to think that I'm pretty good at it.

My wife, Denise, and I have been happily married since August 11, 2001. We have a cat, Cole, and we live together in our house in Waterloo, Ontario. On July 9, 2004, Denise gave birth to our new son, William John Anthony Coleman. He weighed in at 4.26 kg (9 lbs. 6½ oz.), and was 56 cm (22") long at birth. Like his father, William was born at Grand River Hospital K-W Health Centre (previously known as the K-W General Hospital) in Kitchener, Ontario. Photographs of little William can be found at [1].


Mostly a product of how many customers I am fighting fires with at any given time.

As of November 30, 2004, I have made 4932 edits to Wikipedia as a named user.


Articles I have written[edit]

These are some of the articles I have created for Wikipedia:

Articles of interest[edit]

These are some of the articles which interest me and which I have contributed to:


I became a Wikipedia administrator on November 24, 2004. I will endeavour to uphold my duties graciously and responsibly, and promise to use my powers for good or for awesome. Feel free to read my request for adminship.


All work and no play...

I enjoy several distractions outside of the computer realm. Here are encyclopedic links to some of them.

Card games[edit]

Board games[edit]


I received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from the University of Waterloo in 2001. I majored in Combinatorics and Optimization with a minor in Computer Science. I also spent a considerable number of hours honing my skills at the game of contract bridge, something which I haven't had as much chance to do since the end of my university days.

Software development[edit]

My career is in software development, and I have worked with a number of languages, systems, and organizations.

Programming languages[edit]

Here are some of the programming languages that I have worked with.


As is the case with many programmers, I encounter a number of system standards in my day-to-day life. Among others, I have become proficient with:

Database systems[edit]


Other projects[edit]

I have been involved with other projects to a small or large degree.

Things to do[edit]